Lost In The Residential School Hallways

ahall

It is said once you can think of an event, a heart breaking event and not shed tears, you have dealt with it and have closure. I don’t know if I ever will be able to think of an ojibway boy child, lost and abused in the halls of a residential school and not shed tears, especially since that boy child grew up to be, my father.

His spirit was left in those hallways and I don’t think he was ever able to retrieve it before he parted this earth in 2006.

As an adult now, I can understand how he lived his years trying to prove his worth and trying to prove it to himself was the greatest struggle of all.

I know he was not all he could of been, as a man, as a husband and father, yet I know he did his personal best and for that, I love him. But my heart will always ache for the boy inside the man.

Thinking of you Dad, always. ..rest in peace.

..

Leave a Reply

