Name Calling

I have a great friend, an Ojibway elder, named, Mawla Shawana. He has visited with me, taught me a lot about my culture and there is still so much I have to learn. At the same time, I know he listened to what I had to say about many things. Recently he gave me a native name..

Gwaamjiged Dibik Giizis Kwe……. Looking on Guard Moon Woman

It has been a very busy year, that I have not been able to concentrate on my studying of native culture and my writing. So my plan is over the winter and into the summer,  work on all projects.

100_5012 (2) (2)

One thought on “Name Calling

  1. A name has power in it so am glad you have finally received one. Though can you explain better how it was arrived at? To us Looking = seeking/searching, on guard is that personal or cultural, moon woman= moon is the natural symbol of women yet is something that not only rules the night but drives back the darkness with its’ light. Are we even close here ? Ourself 40 years ago was given the moniker Giigoo for our dealings with a Native movement.

    Like

Leave a comment