Detaching On My Spiritual Path

detach

I am amazed how things or events occur in my life and I have no real answer why they do. Maybe it is just timing? Maybe it is because I have the strength to deal with the matter?

Something happened this past week, that at the time I thought how odd and then I wanted to give a name to it, but it was not coming to me.

What happened was.. While in a mall shopping with a relative, we come upon this person and when I first looked, it was like I was looking just at anyone in that hallway, then I realize who I was looking at, I realized how there was absolutely NO emotion, good or bad, no thought good or bad, very little recognition and that person was the man I spent 30 years of my life with, my children’s father.

I was kind of floored by it. So I spent a couple days thinking more and more, then I talked to someone and told them what I experienced… she named it.. Emotional Detachment…

I never thought of that term and maybe there are some of you who don’t know what it means.

Remez Sasson explained it best for me…

What is emotional detachment?

You may have never come across this term before, and if you did, you might not have paid attention to it. However, it is an important quality that can save you a lot of emotional inconvenience and suffering.

So what exactly is emotional detachment? It is a state of calmness, and the ability not be emotionally agitated by people, events, and your own thoughts. It helps you conserve your balance and not take things too personally.

This is not a state of indifference, and does not mean lack of interest or lack of feeling. People, who are indifferent, do not care about anything, and are usually passive. True detachment is something else. It is an attitude of common sense, open-mindedness and practical behavior.

People, who posses detachment, accept calmly whatever happens. They accept the good and the bad equally, because their minds are in a state inner balance and peace. If there is something they cannot do or cannot change, it won’t disturb their inner peace. If they are convinced of the importance of a certain action or goal, they will pursue it with all their heart, ignoring distractions easily.

With this kind of attitude, people accept both success and failure. If they succeed, that is fine, and if they don’t, they will either try again, or forget the matter and move on to something else.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Yes.. It is a part of my Spiritual Path that I am on.. A path that never ends and never ceases to amaze me.. Life is great!!

Leave a Reply

