A Vet Changes Attitude

abutty1

Eating my sandwich, looking at my tree that I will decorate when I am done my lunch and checking out the news feed on my face book account, I noticed something. Facebook has this little thing now they call, See Your 2013 Year In Review. Look back at your 20 biggest moments from the past year.

Which got me thinking, not so much about the year 2013, but over the years. So much has happened, some good, some bad, but all a learning experience, it being up to me to figure out exactly what the lesson was.

Then I remembered a phone call I got this morning from a great forever friend, that come all the way from Minnesota to meet me in person a few years back, Butty.

Butty is his nickname and I won’t give out his real name, because it is not so much a persons name that we do recall it is how that person made us feel. Butty is a Vietnam vet, he told me some stories of being over there back in the day and he also told me a few things that really makes a person think.

He said when he was fighting in that war, a soldier seen his enemy approaching, heard him coming and could look him in the eyes. But today, with all the technology, the soldier does not see or hear their enemy approaching, which he describes as being mind bending and stating no wonder these young men come home needing so much help mentally. One can only imagine spending months at time during a tour to be stalked by someone you can not see. It made me want to cry just to hear that and my heart goes out to them. I don’t care what anyone says about any armed forces being where they think they shouldn’t be because at the end of the day, it is because of that soldier you are able to sleep at night and not worry about who is watching you, that you can not see.

Butty set me straight about a lot of things I was dealing with emotionally at the time. When he first said this to me, my defences rose.. “Missy Lou, you need change your attitude.”. (Butty always and still does call me Missy Lou) I asked him what he meant by that comment. And he proceeded to tell me. He said, we can do nothing about how other people treat us or see us as a person, the only thing we can do, is respect and love yourself enough to know that you are doing your best and if a change has to be made, make it with you and watch your world change for the better or as it should be.

That was hard to do back then and it took me quite a while to make it a part of who I am, but it worked and the person, that changed did take effect with, was my father. Yes Dad passed over before all that was good could evolve for my change of attitude, but I know that Dad loved me very much and  he knew how much I loved him. He is one of my spirit guides today. I feel him near always and for that, I have to thank Butty. Because if I did not open my heart to my father when he was alive I don’t know if I could of once he passed.

There was one evening, Butty and I were listening to some classic rock music as we played cribbage. A song by CCR began and of course who can not sing along with CCR. Butty asked me if I knew what they were talking about in the song, Have You Ever Seen The Rain? I didn’t really, so he explained.

abutty2

The

[Chorus]
I want to know, have you ever seen the rain
I want to know, have you ever seen the rain
Comin down on a sunny day

Is about the bullets  being fired from a Vietnam war gunner ship aka helicopter . The rain being the bullets you can see even on a sunny day.

There is a few more stories Butty shared with me and also gave me great advice to live by. He is not physically well these days and I will forever keep him in my prayers and thoughts. He is one of those friends that you will NEVER forget or want to forget.

My life has been touched in so many ways by people as unique as Butty, another being The Wizard and Bear, all soldiers/vets/heroes of wars past. (again using their nicknames, because it is not the name the matters, it is the person)

Thanks for being an influentual part of my life Butty. Much Love always!

So if you are going to remember the past, remember it fondly, because of the past you are the person you are today and if you don’t like who that person is, change from within.

God Bless Us All

 

 

One thought on “A Vet Changes Attitude

Leave a Reply

