When I Surrendered

asurrender3

For many of us there is a time in our lives when we come to a crossroads. For some this journey may have been devastating, for some, we come upon the crossroads just in the nick of time before we journeyed a long hard road. We all have different strengths, but the most important is being able to use the strength, realize that strength to make a change for the better.

I have been a people watcher, listened to people, read about people and the one thing we all have in common is the pain of letting someone down, someone we should of loved enough to make a stand for, ourselves.

We usually have to be on our knees asking how to overcome hardship, how to deal with the trials of life.

When I look back, I can honestly say the biggest turning point in my life came when I worked at the addictions center, learning and living a program that inspired me to be better to and for myself. No, I did not have an addiction to drugs or alcohol, but I know today that I could of easily fell into that lifestyle if I did not take on the program.  I needed spiritual healing.

There is a couple sentences in the Big Book, Chapter 7, Working With Others, that stayed with me..

“When we look back, we realize that the things which came to us when we put ourselves in God’s hands were better than anything we could have planned. Follow the dictates of a Higher Power and you will presently live in a new and wonderful world, no matter what your present circumstance!!”

I made a statement in the board room one day at a staff meeting and I still stand by that statement today.. I truly believe everyone, addicted or not can benefit from a 12 step program or if nothing else, read The Big Book. I am sure glad I did, because the outcome is the person you know today and I think I’m okay.

I will always be grateful for the friends I made there, in the staff..God Bless Us All

One thought on “When I Surrendered

Leave a Reply

