Out With The Old! Embrace the New!

When you work in a field such as addictions, you see the great transformation taking place when a person admits to a change for the better. It’s a struggle till the end, but worth it. Then when I met up with a person from my past and see how they are still carrying so much baggage till the present day, the anger, the defence and un-apologetic mannerisms, it reminds me how grateful I am for what it took to be where I am today

And that was with the help of many great people, because we don’t have to do it alone, there is always someone reaching out to help in any way they can.

I will say my journey began 7 years ago, when I started working at the addictions center. The staff, the clients and the program itself was all a great part of that turning point for me.

Not everyone can go and work at such a place, to begin a journey of inner peace, but we can find help in books, talking to elders, listening to elders and believing that there is someone who went through struggles like we are going through at this moment.

I hope that person eventually seeks out the help needed because life is precious and short. As is all the relationships we have with friends and family.

Joan Baez is quoted ~ You don’t get to choose how you’re going to die, or when. You can only decide how you’re going to live. Now!

Leave a Reply

