My Depression ~ My Faith

crossroads_detail

We are not always lucky to lead grounded lives. I don’t know what the percentages are but I think the odds of all of us going thru trying times in our lives is pretty high. And if you talk to most people who have overcome the hardships, most have said it was when they started to have Faith.

Faith in something greater than themselves. No one has to walk the rough roads alone, but we will walk it and when we get to the crossroads, some do take the one that has to do with FAITH or the other, which some never return, SUICIDE and then there is the one of DENIAL, where a person says they are okay, but their actions say so much more and the last one is where a person chooses to keep wondering down the road of SELF DESTRUCTION, with drugs and alcohol.

DEPRESSION_by_optiknerve_gr

I can and will be honest to say I started down the one of Suicide, several years ago and no one knew I was on that path, because I did not involve anyone. There was several times I would be driving down the Transcanada Hwy., to meet a transport and want to veer out in front of it, but something or someone held me solid to keep that car travelling straight, thru my tear filled eyes. Then the nights of crying and praying for weeks at a time, those tears and prays began to be answered, through friends and certain family members, one person in particular, my Mother. I won’t say what our conversations were, but she was my saving grace because her love was unconditional for me. I also went for professional counselling and was put temporarily, 4 months, on anti-depressants.

faith

Today, my life is different, my attitude is different because of my Faith, because my Higher Power, God, led me down the right path. To thank HIM, I have promised not to let a day go by where I will do my best to inspire at least one person, to let them know, everything will be okay, if we just have Faith and know that inner peace eventually will overwhelm your being and before long you don’t worry about what the day will bring, you accept each day for what it truly is.. A blessing!

Dear Lord, you are our refuge in good and in bad times. In your infinite mercy, bring peace and comfort to those of us who face days sometimes filled with pain and depression. Help us to realize that through you there is joy and the promise of lasting peace. Help us through the rough times. Walk before and beside us so that we may walk in your footsteps and reach out to you in our journey on this earth. Help us to focus on our blessings rather than our misfortunes, dear Lord. Thank you for hearing and answering our prayers. Amen

One thought on “My Depression ~ My Faith

Leave a Reply

