Seriously??

Time-Magazines-controversial-breastfeeding-cover

Well this article proves that I was out of the news loop for a while. In May 2012..Jamie Lynne Grumet, on TIME magazine cover, showing her nursing her three-and-a-half year old son Aram, caused a national stir on the subject of attachment parenting. The article that accompanied the provocative cover was actually about Dr. William Sears, sometimes called ‘the father of attachment parenting’. Grumet follows Dr. Sears’ theory that involves extended breastfeeding with baby-led weaning, co-sleeping, and ‘wearing’ your baby in a sling as often as possible. All of these methods are said to help your child grow up to be secure and confident.

Seriously!!?? I mean wouldn’t a few hugs daily and I love you suffice?? I for one would not want one of my children latched on to me for the first 4 years of their life and I can say with confidence my children who are all adults now with children of their own are very secure and confident that I love them as much as any mother could love their child.

I would like to see a study done on these 3 year old boys when they have reached 30 years of age to see how attached or detached they are from reality. Can we say.. Peter Pan Syndrome? ~ Term coined by pop psychology author Dan Kiley in his book “Peter Pan syndrome: Men Who Have Never Grown Up.” I think they are creating more of a problem than doing any good, but time will tell.

I wonder sometimes if people pull these things out of their hats for recognition and the shock value of it?

One thought on “Seriously??

Leave a Reply

