Being The Best I Can Be

water

It’s been awhile since I posted a blog on here and I thought it best I do that today, a new year grand opening sorta entry.

Then I thought what could I talk about? Well the year past of course and what I learnt in the past 12 months. I can only talk for myself, about myself, I am or have not been appointed to speak for anyone else, however I have learnt there is so many who will feel pretty much the same, which can make this world not such a lonely place at times.

Seven years now, I have been single most of them and those years have passed so fast when I think of it now, with so many trials and tribulations. Hopefully I learnt something alone the way, is the best I can hope for.
One thing I have learnt over the years is how to become functional in what can be a dysfunctional world, no easy feat. Because it is myself who has to change and not expect anything from the rest of the world, turning the focus on the person in the mirror can be down right scary at times. However taking baby steps will get you to a crossroads and then, even then, you still have to pick a road and start walking it. Taking the high road will leave us tired most days but knowing at the end of it is a life reward makes one want to go that extra mile on any given day.

I’ve learnt to set boundaries, meaning just how close I will allow certain people in to my life or just maybe not let them in at all. And to do that is just letting them know what I will see as acceptable behaviours because for so long I have allowed certain people to cross those boundaries.

Detaching emotionally so that I am not caught up in any drama has made this ride of life so much more fun and I pity those who have chosen the hard way, cause there is so much they are missing on this fun ride.. The beautiful scenery, the scent of roses along the way, the laughter of the lighter side of life. Because we don’t live forever.

I have learnt that I must be the first person to celebrate the changes in myself and to celebrate what it took for me to become a functional person in what can be a dysfunctional world. Happy New Year to me!

I think of the logo by a cigarette company…Virginia Slims…“You’ve come a long way baby!”

Hahaha.. Dammit!… Now I want a smoke!

Live..Love.. Laugh!!

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

Leave a Reply

